IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

4 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> DigitalNow TinyTwin and Linux, reports from end users indicate it now works......
renura
post Sep 23 2008, 10:08 PM
Post #1


Enthusiast


Group: Members
Posts: 6,668
Joined: 10-July 03
From: Canberra
Member No.: 38
Card: None


Hi Guys,

I thought I would start a thread about this, given the general interest shown for using the TinyTwin under Linux.

Initial drivers for the Afa9015 chipset based devices (such as the TinyTwin) have been released
http://linuxtv.org/hg/~anttip/af9015/rev/86a15e6b2d89

Some users in this forum have reported success also, please read here for more information.
http://forums.dvbowners.com/index.php?showtopic=9600

All Linux users are encouraged to post here any experiences in relation to using the TinyTwin under Linux, so that we can try and keep all the relevant info together.

Cheers

Renura


--------------------
Renura Enterprises Pty Ltd - Owner of DigitalNow and MediaNow- Importers, Distributors and Retailers of Digital TV and other Digital Multimedia Solutions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dubski
post Sep 25 2008, 12:27 AM
Post #2


Participant


Group: New Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 12-September 08
Member No.: 10,836
Card: DNTV TinyTwin USB


Holy kranski!

I was about to install an IRC chat app to find out more about lirc and this came up in the search "gnome-lirc-properties".
Its in add/remove in Ubuntu. But you should be able to install via command line "sudo aptitude install gnome-lirc-properties".
There is also a KDE version.

Anyways have a look at the screen shot. We have two clues.



Clue #1: It auto detected correctly. And gave me a device location. So that's good news.
Clue #2: Remote control daemon not running. Not sure how to fix this but its a lead.

I have new hope wink.gif

dubski

## UPDATE ## I no longer get the "daemon not running" error. It was due to me stuffing round with the daemon just b4 I tried this.
After a reboot it says "Press remote control to test: <none>"
So I still can't test it that way.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Guest_NoneToBe_*
post Sep 25 2008, 09:49 AM
Post #3





Guests






Just a quick note to confirm that I have TinyTwin working on Ubuntu 8.04 with me-tv as the viewing application. I followed a process similar to that linked by Renura except I just rebooted after installing the modules and it automatically activated the device and loaded the firmware when plugged in.

Note that the femon signal strength monitor doesn't seem to return useful values and I had to try a few difference files to input into 'scan' for finding channels so if you get no channels keep trying with different transmitter sets.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Guest_camerong_*
post Sep 27 2008, 11:45 PM
Post #4





Guests






Hi,

I have been using the Tiny Twin on windows MCE for a while, and it works great. I am trying to build a new linuxmce pc and really need to get this working! BUT I am completly new to linux... blink.gif

I have followed the URL in the first post, but I dont know how to use this information...

Can someone please give me som info, on what I need to do to get this working??

This is my last task and the build will be complete :-)

Many thank!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
stryd_one
post Sep 28 2008, 01:38 AM
Post #5


Be nice to me, I am new.


Group: New Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 22-September 08
Member No.: 10,894
Card: None


Edit: install script is now ready. This is the easy answer, if you're on debian/ubuntu/similar:



Disclaimer: I take no responsibility for anything this does to your machine. I'm just trying to be helpful and provide an easy way to make it work. It works on my box. (Running Ubuntu Hardy Heron)


Just follow the instructions in this post smile.gif

You type the commands into a shell. There are various ways to get to the shell, depending on your linux, but you can always find it at /bin/sh

Once you have the shell running, you'll just see a black screen, and you can type in (better to copy and paste if you can) the commands in that post. Be aware of the last three:

gksudo gedit /etc/modules

dvb-usb-af9015

Reboot.

Typing in the first one, opens the text editor called gedit. It's like notepad.exe (on steroids).
The next line isn't to be typed into the prompt. Just add the text "dvb-usb-af9015" to the end of the file open in gedit (/etc/modules)

Distraction: You could probably replace those two lines of the original procedure with this:
sudo sh -c "echo dvb-usb-af9015 >> /etc/modules"
to avoid manual editing

The last line is not to be typed either. It's just to remind you that it's time to reboot smile.gif


If you're not comfortable with all that, I've uploaded a shell script that will do it all for you, provided you are using a system with aptitude package manager installed. Any ubuntu or debian flavour should work. What distro are you using?

It's the same instructions in the original post, copy/pasted into a file, with the last three lines changed as per the above. I have not tested it and can't promise it'll work, but I see no reason why it wouldn't. It'll prompt you for your password, to run the sudo commands. Just click here and save the file, then doubleclick it to run it.

Good luck! Let us know how you go!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Guest_camerong_*
post Sep 28 2008, 10:56 AM
Post #6





Guests






WOW !!

Thanks for such a prompt and helpful response biggrin.gif

I thought that there was something complex I was missing. I will give this a go tonight, and let you know !!

Cameron
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dubski
post Sep 28 2008, 01:24 PM
Post #7


Participant


Group: New Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 12-September 08
Member No.: 10,836
Card: DNTV TinyTwin USB


QUOTE (stryd_one @ Sep 28 2008, 01:38 AM) *
sudo sh -c "echo dvb-usb-af9015 >> /etc/modules"
to avoid manual editing

Great idea! is there a way we can documents all these things in one place so someone can just follow a how-to kind of thing?
maybe a wiki? or is there something on the board that will do that. What I'd like is for someone to be able to just follow some instructions without reading all the other crap leading up to the solution.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
stryd_one
post Sep 28 2008, 03:12 PM
Post #8


Be nice to me, I am new.


Group: New Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 22-September 08
Member No.: 10,894
Card: None


QUOTE (dubski @ Sep 28 2008, 01:24 PM) *
Great idea! is there a way we can documents all these things in one place so someone can just follow a how-to kind of thing?
maybe a wiki? or is there something on the board that will do that. What I'd like is for someone to be able to just follow some instructions without reading all the other crap leading up to the solution.


I totally agree - a wiki would be perfect. Reading all the other crap leading to (or should I say, obscuring) the solution, is exactly what spooked me away from trying this like you did wink.gif We need a way that people can walk in, hit the solution, and that's it.

Bad news: I did have to fix an error in the script... Good news: It's now been tested properly.

It shouldn't be too hard for me to update that shell script to work with other distros (using RPM instead of Aptitude, and detecting which is installed) but I'd need someone to tell me the package names. At least that way we can reduce the instructions to "click here, save the file, and double-click it"... actually it seems the default in ubuntu is to open the script in a text editor, so it might be an extra step...
Also, it should test to see if the modules file already has already been edited, in case of reinstallation....
I've changed the URL to the firmware to point at the server where the script is (so we don't hammer the server of the people nice enough to supply the firmware)....
Also it now backs up the firmware if it's preexisting, and the modules file before editing, for safety's sake....

Any other needed mods you can think of?

I've edited my post #5 to include instructions.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dubski
post Sep 29 2008, 01:13 PM
Post #9


Participant


Group: New Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 12-September 08
Member No.: 10,836
Card: DNTV TinyTwin USB


Great work with the script!

That will make it nice and easy for everyone.

;-)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
stryd_one
post Sep 29 2008, 08:01 PM
Post #10


Be nice to me, I am new.


Group: New Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 22-September 08
Member No.: 10,894
Card: None


Hey, you wrote most of it! Not to mention sorting wheat from chaff, testing it out, and all the other hard work that comes with defeating linux-voodoo wink.gif All credit goes to you mate!


I've managed to find most of the commands needed to make it work with yum (fedora etc), although I won't be able to test it because I don't have a machine running fedora. If someone out there wants to try it, let me know. Just drop a post in here, I'll get a notification.

Likewise I've sorted out the detection of the text already being added to /etc/modules, that was pretty straightforward.

I think this is just about at a point where it's ready for a .deb package....

Can anyone think of any other forums which we could notify that it's working? I can't help but wonder if there are others out there who, like me, are sitting around waiting for someone to make it work....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nick17v
post Oct 10 2008, 07:22 PM
Post #11


Be nice to me, I am new.


Group: New Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 10-October 08
Member No.: 11,319
Card: DNTV TinyTwin USB


I have been playing and following these instructions managed to get it working mostly.

My question is I this is a dual tuner card (I can watch two different channels under DNTV). It seems to act as a single tuner for me, that is if a recording is taking place on one channel the only channels I can watch are on the same "group" (eg abc1, abc2, abc3, abcHD).

I am not sure if this is behaviour by design of mythtv, or if there is some trick in mythtv to getting dual cards working.

Perhaps someone has got it working as a dual tuner card can confirm theres something strange going on with my system?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dubski
post Oct 10 2008, 07:38 PM
Post #12


Participant


Group: New Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 12-September 08
Member No.: 10,836
Card: DNTV TinyTwin USB


Strange. Have you got both tuners set up and detected in MythTV?
In the sections where you add new tuner card, you should have two entries.
You also have to scan your channels once with each card.

Hope that helps.

dubski
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nick17v
post Oct 10 2008, 07:56 PM
Post #13


Be nice to me, I am new.


Group: New Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 10-October 08
Member No.: 11,319
Card: DNTV TinyTwin USB


Ah, I can add the first, but if I try and add a second in the DVB Device number I get 0 -- warning allready in use.

From a fresh reboot I have a few strange errors too:

[ 61.327099] dvb_usb: Unknown symbol dvb_dmxdev_init
[ 61.327464] dvb_usb: Unknown symbol dvb_register_adapter
[ 61.327886] dvb_usb: Unknown symbol dvb_dmx_swfilter_204
[ 61.327945] dvb_usb: Unknown symbol dvb_dmx_release
[ 61.328103] dvb_usb: Unknown symbol dvb_net_init
[ 61.328162] dvb_usb: Unknown symbol dvb_dmx_swfilter
[ 61.328236] dvb_usb: Unknown symbol dvb_dmxdev_release
[ 61.328348] dvb_usb: Unknown symbol dvb_frontend_detach
[ 61.328467] dvb_usb: Unknown symbol dvb_net_release
[ 61.328543] dvb_usb: Unknown symbol dvb_unregister_frontend
[ 61.328741] dvb_usb: Unknown symbol dvb_register_frontend
[ 61.328798] dvb_usb: Unknown symbol dvb_unregister_adapter
[ 61.328855] dvb_usb: Unknown symbol dvb_dmx_init
[ 61.335834] dvb_usb_af9015: Unknown symbol dvb_usb_device_init
[ 61.335913] dvb_usb_af9015: Unknown symbol dvb_usb_device_exit
[ 61.391571] dvb-usb: found a 'DigitalNow TinyTwin DVB-T Receiver' in warm state.
[ 61.391706] dvb-usb: will pass the complete MPEG2 transport stream to the software demuxer.
[ 61.392080] DVB: registering new adapter (DigitalNow TinyTwin DVB-T Receiver)
[ 61.748096] af9013: firmware version:4.95.0
[ 61.754095] DVB: registering frontend 0 (Afatech AF9013 DVB-T)...
[ 61.892202] MXL5005S: Attached at address 0xc6
[ 61.892210] dvb-usb: DigitalNow TinyTwin DVB-T Receiver successfully initialized and connected.
[ 61.903152] usbcore: registered new interface driver dvb_usb_af9015

When I unplug/replug I see this:
[ 656.630353] af9015: bulk message failed:-22 (8/0)
[ 656.630361] af9013: I2C read failed reg:d730

After I have run the mythtv setup:

[ 729.608478] dvb-usb: DigitalNow TinyTwin DVB-T Receiver successfully deinitialized and disconnected.
[ 729.902600] usb 5-1: new high speed USB device using ehci_hcd and address 5
[ 730.039273] usb 5-1: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
[ 730.052498] dvb-usb: found a 'DigitalNow TinyTwin DVB-T Receiver' in cold state, will try to load a firmware
[ 730.113370] dvb-usb: downloading firmware from file 'dvb-usb-af9015.fw'
[ 730.210394] usb 5-1: USB disconnect, address 5
[ 730.214653] dvb-usb: generic DVB-USB module successfully deinitialized and disconnected.
[ 730.214752] dvb-usb: generic DVB-USB module successfully deinitialized and disconnected.
[ 730.454300] usb 5-1: new high speed USB device using ehci_hcd and address 6
[ 730.588786] usb 5-1: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
[ 730.603418] dvb-usb: found a 'DigitalNow TinyTwin DVB-T Receiver' in warm state.
[ 730.603482] dvb-usb: will pass the complete MPEG2 transport stream to the software demuxer.
[ 730.604028] DVB: registering new adapter (DigitalNow TinyTwin DVB-T Receiver)
[ 731.051714] af9013: firmware version:4.95.0
[ 731.057714] DVB: registering frontend 0 (Afatech AF9013 DVB-T)...
[ 731.057856] MXL5005S: Attached at address 0xc6
[ 731.057862] dvb-usb: DigitalNow TinyTwin DVB-T Receiver successfully initialized and connected.
[ 731.080620] input: Afatech DVB-T 2 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1d.7/usb5/5-1/5-1:1.1/input/input8
[ 731.118028] input,hidraw0: USB HID v1.01 Keyboard [Afatech DVB-T 2] on usb-0000:00:1d.7-1

Im dont know if that is expected or not, but it does seem to half work.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ClintB
post Oct 13 2008, 02:36 PM
Post #14


Be nice to me, I am new.


Group: New Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 13-October 08
Member No.: 11,330
Card: DNTV TinyTwin USB


Thanks Strdy one for the script.

But I have similar problem to nick17v. I only have one tiny twin tuner available in Mythtv config. I am able to tune all channels ok and all works fine on one tuner. I also have a leadtek dtv1000 tuner which all works fine. Is there something I am missing, I am running Mythbuntu 8.04, Below is the relevant output of dmesg

[ 22.545857] input: Afatech DVB-T 2 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:0b.1/usb2/2-3/2-3:1.1/input/input1
[ 22.562806] input,hidraw0: USB HID v1.01 Keyboard [Afatech DVB-T 2] on usb-0000:00:0b.1-3
[ 22.763684] usb 1-4.4: new full speed USB device using ohci_hcd and address 4
[ 22.883612] usb 1-4.4: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
[ 22.886565] hub 1-4.4:1.0: USB hub found
[ 22.889517] hub 1-4.4:1.0: 3 ports detected
[ 31.183135] cx88[0]: subsystem: 107d:665f, board: WinFast DTV1000-T [card=35,autodetected]
[ 31.183138] cx88[0]: TV tuner type 4, Radio tuner type -1
[ 31.187226] dvb-usb: found a 'DigitalNow TinyTwin DVB-T Receiver' in warm state.
[ 31.187280] dvb-usb: will pass the complete MPEG2 transport stream to the software demuxer.
[ 31.188358] DVB: registering new adapter (DigitalNow TinyTwin DVB-T Receiver)
[ 31.206697] cx88/2: cx2388x MPEG-TS Driver Manager version 0.0.6 loaded
[ 31.330369] input: cx88 IR (WinFast DTV1000-T) as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:10.0/0000:04:07.0/input/input7
[ 31.378662] cx88[0]/0: found at 0000:04:07.0, rev: 5, irq: 17, latency: 64, mmio: 0xfc000000
[ 31.378712] cx88[0]/0: registered device video0 [v4l2]
[ 31.378729] cx88[0]/0: registered device vbi0
[ 31.386593] cx88[0]/2: cx2388x 8802 Driver Manager
[ 31.386613] ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:04:07.2[A] -> Link [LNKD] -> GSI 17 (level, low) -> IRQ 17
[ 31.386622] cx88[0]/2: found at 0000:04:07.2, rev: 5, irq: 17, latency: 64, mmio: 0xfd000000
[ 31.490000] cx88/2: cx2388x dvb driver version 0.0.6 loaded
[ 31.490005] cx88/2: registering cx8802 driver, type: dvb access: shared
[ 31.490008] cx88[0]/2: subsystem: 107d:665f, board: WinFast DTV1000-T [card=35]
[ 31.490011] cx88[0]/2: cx2388x based DVB/ATSC card
[ 31.567308] DVB: registering new adapter (cx88[0])
[ 31.567314] DVB: registering frontend 1 (Conexant CX22702 DVB-T)...
[ 31.602434] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LAZA] enabled at IRQ 22
[ 31.602440] ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:00:10.1[B] -> Link [LAZA] -> GSI 22 (level, low) -> IRQ 22
[ 31.602551] PCI: Setting latency timer of device 0000:00:10.1 to 64
[ 31.636999] hda_codec: Unknown model for ALC883, trying auto-probe from BIOS...
[ 31.949196] af9013: firmware version:4.73.0
[ 31.973164] DVB: registering frontend 0 (Afatech AF9013 DVB-T)...
[ 32.017900] MXL5005S: Attached at address 0xc6
[ 32.017907] dvb-usb: DigitalNow TinyTwin DVB-T Receiver successfully initialized and connected.
[ 32.061072] usbcore: registered new interface driver dvb_usb_af9015
[ 32.233396] usb 1-2: reset full speed USB device using ohci_hcd and address 2
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nick17v
post Oct 13 2008, 04:56 PM
Post #15


Be nice to me, I am new.


Group: New Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 10-October 08
Member No.: 11,319
Card: DNTV TinyTwin USB


I had a play with the driver and forced it to dual tuner mode. Mythtv then picked up the 2nd tuner and was able to scan the channels in the backend setup, but I was unable to get any video in the frontend from it (2nd tuner).

There are a few comments in the driver source about "issues" surrounding the 2nd tuner.

It does appear to be a driver issue.

My limited knowledge of c, and not having any data on the af9015 chip make it a bit hard to progress further.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Eggman
post Oct 23 2008, 12:51 PM
Post #16


Be nice to me, I am new.


Group: New Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 15-July 08
Member No.: 10,535
Card: DVICO FusionHDTV


HI,

I have the same problem as nick17v. I only get one tuner being detected. If I do a ls /dev/dvb I onlyhave adapter0 in there. Obviously some people are successfully running both tuners. What version of the firmware and driver seems to be working well for people?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Guest_Drew_*
post Oct 24 2008, 03:12 PM
Post #17





Guests






Hi all, I have successfully go the Tiny twin to work on Fedora c8, I am however having the issue where the second tuner does not come up.
nick17v's post said that you were able to force it into dual mode.... can I ask what and how you did to do that? this is the only thing I am missing then I have TV multicasting across a network... any ideas would be really helpful...




Drew
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nick17v
post Oct 28 2008, 05:45 PM
Post #18


Be nice to me, I am new.


Group: New Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 10-October 08
Member No.: 11,319
Card: DNTV TinyTwin USB


QUOTE (Drew @ Oct 24 2008, 04:12 PM) *
Hi all, I have successfully go the Tiny twin to work on Fedora c8, I am however having the issue where the second tuner does not come up.
nick17v's post said that you were able to force it into dual mode.... can I ask what and how you did to do that? this is the only thing I am missing then I have TV multicasting across a network... any ideas would be really helpful...




Drew

From memory what I did was:

change line 818 of af9015.c
from
af9015_config.dual_mode = val;
to
af9015_config.dual_mode = 1;
compile the file and insert the new .ko file into the kernel.

obviously there is more to it as it didnt work, but it allowed me to see how dual tuners in mythtv work and eliminate any mythtv issue.

I will have another look oneday when I have a bit more time, but without info on the af9015/13 chips I dont think I will get too far.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
stryd_one
post Oct 28 2008, 09:26 PM
Post #19


Be nice to me, I am new.


Group: New Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 22-September 08
Member No.: 10,894
Card: None


QUOTE (nick17v @ Oct 28 2008, 05:45 PM) *
From memory what I did was:

change line 818 of af9015.c
from
af9015_config.dual_mode = val;
to
af9015_config.dual_mode = 1;
compile the file and insert the new .ko file into the kernel.


Firstly, if you're going to do mods, it would be polite to notify the project owners, so that your code is merged with the main code. Spreading mods around the web is not a good move, linux has enough chefs enough already wink.gif Also, it would appear that changing that line 818 (which brings me to another suggestion - don't just post line numbers, this code is changing constantly) is not the right place to do it - when I looked at the code, that line was just one small part of the dual tuner support, it seems to me that you would want to change line 41:

CODE
int dvb_usb_af9015_dual_mode;


to

CODE
int dvb_usb_af9015_dual_mode = 1;


You might also want to look elsewhere like line 832 and 818 where it is hardcoded to be off regardless of the other vars (really instead of 0 this should reflect the one place where dual tuners is enabled, but it's obviously in a state of flux at the moment)... but my first advice is the most important - contact the developers. Because like they say:

CODE
/* disable dual mode by default because it is buggy */


My C skills are okay, but I wasn't able to find the datasheet. Perhaps when you contact the devs, they'll have something we could use to help, otherwise we could email afatech...?

@drew: I was about to reply to your PM but just noticed your post saying you got it working... Does that mean you don't need a reply now? Will you be posting instructions for other users, or is it a secret? wink.gif From what I gathered, the only real difference between fedora and ubuntu's installation, is to replace what's there with the equivalents:

aptitude install = yum install ?

mercurial linux-headers-$(uname -r) build-essential make dvb-utils
I remember build-essential had to be replaced with a a few packages...?

If you tell us what these are, I can make my install script work with either OS smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Guest_Drew_*
post Nov 2 2008, 02:49 PM
Post #20





Guests






QUOTE (stryd_one @ Oct 28 2008, 10:26 PM) *
@drew: I was about to reply to your PM but just noticed your post saying you got it working... Does that mean you don't need a reply now? Will you be posting instructions for other users, or is it a secret? wink.gif From what I gathered, the only real difference between fedora and ubuntu's installation, is to replace what's there with the equivalents:

aptitude install = yum install ?

mercurial linux-headers-$(uname -r) build-essential make dvb-utils
I remember build-essential had to be replaced with a a few packages...?

If you tell us what these are, I can make my install script work with either OS smile.gif


Sorry, yeah no secret at all... yeah most is replacing apt with yum and finding the packages. I had to install the devel-kernel (yum) and the dvb aps (yum), the firmware that is here some where (copy paste).. and then compile the mecurial v4l from the the linux tv website (this was harder I was confused with what i needed, get all of it....works better) ... once I had done that the tuner came up in dmesg correctly and from that I used vlc/vlm to tune and view it and it works a treat.... if you like I will give you exact instructions once i get back to work... as that is where i have all the tunuers running... and I can get you the exact commands and what.. if you like..still only tuner though.. as i came to the same conclusion, that the code is still buggy... smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

4 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th January 2020 - 01:47 PM